The BETA (Behavioral Evaluation and Threat Assessment) Team is a consultative and evaluation group which provides information and referrals to those dealing with threatening or disruptive students. It does not adjudicate, discipline, or impose sanctions against any member of the campus community, nor does it provide or mandate treatment. The BETA Team serves three primary functions:

  • Provide individual consultation and resources to faculty and staff who are dealing with a disruptive or threatening student;
  • Receive reports of students who are engaging in substantial disruption or threatening behavior and make referrals to appropriate University departments to address specific concerns;
  • Brief University departments on response steps, which individuals and offices can use when confronted by a student of concern.


The BETA Team is comprised of representatives from the Counseling Center, the University Health Center's Mental Health Service, Office of Student Conduct, Department of Public Safety, and the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. Other faculty or staff may be asked to participate for a specific issue and for a limited time.

Current core members are as follows:

Marta Hopkinson, M.D.
Director & Psychiatrist, Mental Health Service
Sharon Kirkland-Gordon, Ph.D.
Director & Staff Psychologist, Counseling Center
David Petersen
Associate Director, Counseling Center
Andrea Goodwin, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Student Conduct
Tamara Saunders
Associate Director, Office of Student Conduct
Cpt. Robert Mueck
Department of Public Safety
Maj. Chris Jagoe
Department of Public Safety
Lt. Brian Lintz
Department of Public Safety
John Zacker, Ph.D. (Chair)
Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
Maria Lonsbury
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs